Reading School District

One vision. All students. One Reading.

Human Resources

Karen B. Gokay
Chief Human Resources Officer
gokayk@readingsd.org
484-258-7002

Christine I. Pena
Director of Employee Relations & Internal Affairs
penac@readingsd.org
484-258-7003

Linda Pelker
HR Specialist (Professional Staff)
pelkerll@readingsd.org
484-258-7011

Bonnie Leonti
HR Specialist (Support Staff)
leontib@readingsd.org
484-258-7006

Lisa Hoffman
Director of Employee Benefits & Risk Management
hoffmanl@readingsd.org
484-258-7023

Anthony Leonti
Attendance & Leave Specialist
leontia@readingsd.org
484-258-7008

Denise Templin
Benefits Clerk/Workers’ Compensation
templind@readingsd.org
484-258-7025

Damaris Sanchez
On-Site Loomis Representative
dsanchez@loomisco.com
484-258-7009

Cristina Raimondi
HR Generalist
raimondic@readingsd.org
484-258-7007

Nydia Silva
HR Generalist
silvan@readingsd.org
484-258-7010  


Department Overview

The Department of Human Resources provides an array of support services to applicants and Reading School District staff members at all levels of the organization.

Reading School District is an equal opportunity employer and prides itself on its recruitment and selection procedures and processes. HR is instrumental in posting and advertising for open positions; the collection, screening, and processing of application packets; facilitating the interview process, and responding to applicant inquiries. Our goal is to attract qualified applicants who will enhance the educational program for the District’s almost 18,000 students.

HR serves as a resource center for the District’s almost 2,000 employees represented by six separate unions and two professional organizations. HR serves as the first point of contact for all employee and labor relations issues with specific emphasis on contract interpretation and implementation; comprehensive, confidential investigations; and compliance with local, state, and federal employment and labor law. HR has an “open door” policy and encourages staff members to contact the Department as a first-line resource for questions related to their employment. Examples of services that HR specifically coordinates and/or facilitates for staff members include, but is not limited to, the self-insured medical benefits program, the Employee Assistance Program, workers’ compensation, leaves of absence, absence request processing, certification, tuition reimbursement, and personnel file review.

For more information on the Department of Human Resources or if you have specific questions regarding employment opportunities or benefits available to you as a Reading School District employee, please contact the staff members listed above.

CLOSE