• Food Service


    Kurt D. Myers
    Director of Food Service
    myersk@readingsd.org
    610-371-5607

    Melissa Stichter
    Human Resources Generalist
    stichterm@readingsd.org

    Theresa Wolf
    Supervisor
    wolft@readingsd.org

    Christopher Rodriguez
    Supervisor
    rodrigc@readingsd.org

    Bridget Moffat
    Supervisor
    moffatb@readingsd.org

    Carol Stuber
    Secretary
    stuberc@readingsd.org

    Desiree Padovani
    Secretary
    padovanid@readingsd.org

    Romanita Rivera
    Secretary
    riveraro@readingsd.org



    Department Overview

    The Reading School District Food Service Program is the fourth largest school food service operation in the State and produces 22,000 meals daily.  The department consists of approximately 150 employees.  We service 22 school sites and 3 contract sites.

    Since implementation of the Community Eligibility Provision of the Healthy Hunger Free Kids Act, every student has access to a free breakfast and lunch daily.  In addition, we serve breakfast in the classroom to students at our elementary and middle schools.  Our breakfast in the classroom program has received both State and Federal recognition. 



    Frequently Asked Questions

    Q. 
    Does a Reading School District student have to complete an application to receive free and reduced meal benefits?
    No. All Reading School District students are now eligible for free meals (breakfast and lunch).

    Q. How do I obtain food substitutions for my son/daughter who suffers from a food allergy?
    Parents and/or guardians must provide a signed note from a medical professional.  In order for Food Service to make food substitutions, the State Department of Education, Division of Child Nutrition mandates a note signed by a medical professional must be kept on file.  The note should specify what foods the student may not have and what foods the student may have as a replacement.